consultant life - Reisverslag uit Ann Arbor, Verenigde Staten van Bianca Coops - WaarBenJij.nu consultant life - Reisverslag uit Ann Arbor, Verenigde Staten van Bianca Coops - WaarBenJij.nu

consultant life

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Bianca

11 Juni 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Ann Arbor

Heya!

I guess I get so used to this consultant life style that I forget to tell some stories here. Also because there's not so many exciting things to do in the area compared to Vancouver. So it's just driving to work in the morning, long day at the office, sometimes dinner with colleagues in either Jackson or Ann Arbor and then going home..

The weekend at home in May was fabulous and the weekend after when I went to Toronto was a lot of fun too! Finally seeing Samira again after 2 years, shopping at Winners again, enjoying the view from the CN tower, partying with Samira & her friends, lunch at the harbour in the sun. The weather was amazing that weekend, nice & sunny. On Sunday I went the full day to Niagara Falls, booked a tour. The first stop was at a helicopter place and I made the last minute decision to hop on board and fly over the Niagara river and see the falls from the air!! I was lucky enough to sit in front next to the pilot so I had a clear view. Bright blue sky, we could see the Toronto skyline. So nice! It also worked out nicely in the sense that the rest of the tour group went to a icewine tasting while I was in the air. As I can't drink that anyway, perfect timing :)
The rest of the tour was not that interesting to me (a flower clock.. really?) but the falls were great. I didn't go on the boat as we hadn't had any lunch yet by the time we got there. Just strolling along the path to view both falls. Beautiful! I was a little shocked to see the town itself next to the falls is like little Vegas... yikes! Guess that's a north american thing.. didn't like that. Oh well.
All in all a fun weekend in Toronto and a fun drive with Ganesh & his daughter.

The last few weeks have been busy at the project. We're getting close to go-live weekend. I had to change my flight home twice because of some changes in the timelines, so next week I'll be flying home!
In the mean time I'm planning another trip. Vacation for a week to Curacao & Aruba! Visiting Isan and enjoying the island life & diving of course!

oh I never made it to Holland Michigan, the weather wasn't that great and it just didn't fit in. I do want to explore Michigan though, I've heard about a few amazing places (Pictured Rocks NP). A lot of those trips are not fun alone though, so makes it a little harder to plan with other folks. Oh well, if that's the worst ;)

Some fun facts that surprised me in US: apparently in some states there's no law to wear a helmet on a motor cycle... I do not understand why you would WANT to drive 120km/h with no helmet on.. with any accident you'll prob be dead right away.. strange to me. Driving here after winter is all about avoiding holes in the road and u see road kill everywhere!
not so fun fact: apparently in Michigan they also have tornoadoes... I had no idea until the siren went off! Scary! Luckily nothing bad happened besides some damage by fallen trees (next to the apartment complex I live in). Oh and the torrential rain they can have here! Geez... there's been a few times on the road where the visibility was absolutely 0%. The only good thing is that the roads are pretty much straight, so as long as you don't turn your car, you should stay on the road even though you can't see it...

Till next time!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Bianca

Actief sinds 29 Maart 2011
Verslag gelezen: 444
Totaal aantal bezoekers 73122

Voorgaande reizen:

16 September 2016 - 09 Oktober 2016

China

19 Augustus 2015 - 07 September 2015

USA & Canada trip

15 Februari 2015 - 07 Maart 2015

Thailand & Cambodia 2015

25 Maart 2014 - 22 Augustus 2014

Project in Jackson

16 November 2013 - 12 December 2013

Costa Rica, Nicaragua & Panama!

18 Februari 2013 - 05 Juli 2013

Project in Engeland

10 Juni 2011 - 02 Januari 2013

Project in Vancouver

16 April 2011 - 27 April 2011

Een fotografie reis met Sawadee

01 April 2006 - 25 April 2006

Bianca in Japan

Landen bezocht: